Defenders of the Frontier (Warriors 1)

warriors-1Defenders of the Frontier by Robert Silverberg
My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

A fortification protecting a mountain pass in the midst of a desert between two war nations is only manned by eleven men including Surveyor. Once a force of 10,000 when occupying the fort two decades before, the eleven men have over the past few years have killed “the enemy” in ones or two but now their Seeker can’t detect them. Now they begin thinking about if the war is still going on, if they should stay or leave the fort, and if they leave will they be able to function back home. Or is the fort now home?

2 thoughts on “Defenders of the Frontier (Warriors 1)

  1. How do you like doing these story by story reviews? I don’t read a lot of short story collections, but when I do, it seems like it would be a lot of work to do this. And how will you reconcile all of these with your final review of the book as a whole?

    Like

    • The story reviews in a way help me in reviewing the volume as a whole. First I find the average of the star ratings to give the book as a whole a rating.

      Second I can use what I’ve written to “recall” earlier stories for when I write the review for the entire collection, especially when it comes to genre (if the book has several different ones) and point to the stories I found really strong and those I might not have personally like plus a reason why.

      A story review basically takes 10 minutes at most, though the Dunk & Egg story which is the last in this collection will take longer as it was the reason I purchased the book in the first place.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

