2017 Reading Plan

Hello everyone,

With the start of a new year, it’s time to make some resolutions. My first resolution for the past several years is to whittle away at my personal TBR mountain without adding to said mountain, unfortunately the last several years that has been a failure. However this year I know that is not going to be a problem for a variety of reasons, but mainly I’ve put myself on a very tight budget for everything. My second resolution is to examined my presence on various forums like here on WordPress and on LibraryThing. The third is to write more, both on my practice novel and on various blog entries here.

As for the titular reading plan, below is the list of the 40 books I that want to finish this year in the order I plan on reading them with ONE caveat, The Reformation by Will Durant. With the 500th Anniversary of the start of the Protestant Reformation this October 31st, I’ve selected Durant’s work as a specific read for that particular moment in time. I did something similar in July 2014 with the start of World War I by reading Barbara Tuchman’s The Guns of August and Peter Hart’s The Great War.

Each month I’ll update the list below in regards to how I’m doing and add anything that I’ve read in my spare time at home (when I probably should be writing). Also expect some blog posts about certain things I’ll be reading, *cough*Zecharia Sitchin*cough*, as to why I’m reading them. So without further adou, my list…

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavendra
Centuries of Change by Ian Mortimer
Dangerous Women edited by George R.R. Martin (The Princess and the Queen)
The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. 2 by Edward Gibbon
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents (Discworld #28) by Terry Pratchett
Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea (Hinges #4) by Thomas Cahill- REREAD
The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. 3 by Edward Gibbon
The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Night Watch (Discworld #29) by Terry Pratchett
Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin (The Rogue Prince)
Travels with Charley: In Search of America by John Steinbeck
The Iliad and The Odyssey by Homer
The Wee Free Men (Discworld #30) by Terry Pratchett
Mysteries of the Middle Ages (Hinges #5) by Thomas Cahill- REREAD
Heretics and Heroes (Hinges #6) by Thomas Cahill
Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe
Monstrous Regiment (Discworld #31) by Terry Pratchett
The 12th Planet (Earth Chronicles #1) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Christianity by Roland H. Bainton
The Underdogs by Mariano Azuela
A Hat Full of Sky (Discworld #32) by Terry Pratchett
Op-Center (Op-Center #1) by Jeff Roven- REREAD
The Republic by Plato
Gilgamesh
Going Postal (Discworld #33) by Terry Pratchett
The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles #2) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Evita: The Real Life of Eva Peron by Nicholas Fraser
Beowulf
Thud! (Discworld #34) by Terry Pratchett
Mirror Image (Op-Center #2) by Jeff Rovin- REREAD
A Brief History of Seventh-day Adventists by George R. Knight
Foundation (Foundation #1) by Isaac Asimov
Wintersmith (Discowrld #35) by Terry Pratchett
The Wars of Gods and Men (Earth Chronicles #3) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Politics by Aristotle
Foundation and Empire (Foundation #2) by Isaac Asimov
Making Money (Discworld #36) by Terry Pratchett
Games of State (Op-Center #3) by Jeff Rovin- REREAD

The Reformation by Will Durant (October 31, 2017)

10 thoughts on “2017 Reading Plan

  1. I love your lists and reading plans.

    There are a few titles on your list that I am looking to read this year, too: The Iliad, The Odyssey, The Republic by Plato, Gilgamesh…

    I look forward to your updates.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks.

      Yeah when I starting thinking about reading the classics, it took me a while in realizing that I might want to read the “original” classics as well.

      Besides the books we share, what are some of your other books you’re planning to read? Or are you working on a post similar to mine that you just haven’t posted yet?

      Liked by 1 person

      • As much as I admire your planning, it’s not something I do. My reading is not planned at all. The only theme I have this year is to read from the big pile (or virtual pile) of unread books that I already own.
        The bingos and challenges last year made me abandon my Mt TBR project….so there are lots of unread books clogging up my shelves. I’ll probably take up posting pictures of the physical pile of books again soon.

        But classics are on the kindle and apart from the ones we’ve already identified, I really want to read Ovid’s Metamorphoses. They seem to crop up in so many other books I read and I want to read the original. Also, I’d like re-kindle my love for Cicero. I read him while studying Latin but haven’t picked up anything by him (or any other “classic”) since high school.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I understand, each of us tackling their Mt. TBR their own way.

        Once I’ve gotten my TBR mountain to the size of a molehill then I’m going to have to get my hands on Ovid and probably Cicero as well. I’m sure both Goodreads and LibraryThing will be recommending them to me as I go through my classics and philosophy/political theory groupings.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great lists ….. I’m happy to meet another eclectic reader like myself, although I do tend to gravitate to classics. I have all of Thomas Cahill’s books on my TBR list and am looking forward to reading them. Beowulf is one of my absolute favourites …. I hosted a read-along of it on my blog a couple of years ago. The Iliad is perhaps my top favourite with the Odyssey close behind, and I’m reading Plato’s Republic this year as well.

    Best of luck with your reading for 2017 and I’m glad to have found your blog through Bookstooge!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you and glad you meet you as well.

      I goal one day is to actually have a published story in fantasy genre, so my book selection over the past few years has been fantasy. Mainly to know what others have done and not accidentally plagiarize or do the same as previous writers had done. But a former professor of mine suggested to spread out my reference reading to classics and notable authors known for their sentence structure, etc. Though I already wanted to read Gilgamesh, Beowulf, Homer, and others.

      Best of luck to you as well for reading this year and I’m glad you commented on my blog. I’ve started following you on Blogspot as well as Goodreads, looking forward to reading your reviews of the same books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

