2017 Reading Plan (May Update)

The end of May marks my One-Year Anniversary on WordPress!

I completed only 4 books this past month to bring my total to 27, however given that to reach my goal of 40 total books this year I needed to reach at least 4 books in a month four times I happy with the number.  Only one of the books, Sabbath Roots, was a reread which brings my total to 3 so the others are all “first-time” reads.

May is also the month in which I published the most posts ever in any forum I’ve written on, which I believe is 27.  It helped that The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Rogues were omnibus/anthology collections that allowed me to review each story, but still that is a lot of posts and I must say a little impressive for me.

Besides continuing with Rogues to finish it off and then continue with my list below, I need to make a dent in Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass (First Edition & Death-Bed Edition) which sadly I hardly read this month.  Given the book is around 930 pages that is bad, I can’t let his work by like my multi-year reading of Robert Frost.  And I need to write my “What If?” entry that I’ve been planning to do since I started this blog because soon I’m going to need to write a little essay on why I’m (re)reading Zecharia Sitchin before I start.

That’s all for this month, talk to you later.

Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavendra
The Acts of the Apostles by Ellen G. White*
Centuries of Change by Ian Mortimer
Dangerous Women 1 edited by George R.R. Martin (The Princess and the Queen)
The Great Controversy by Ellen G. White*
In Search of the Golden Rainbow by Charles Armistead*
Lighter of Gospel Fires by Ella M. Robinson*
The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. 2 by Edward Gibbon
A Bold One for God by Charles G. Edwards*
Scars of Independence by Holger Hoock
Blood Stain (Volume Two) by Linda Sejic*
Herald of the Midnight Cry by Paul A. Gordon*
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents (Discworld #28) by Terry Pratchett
Home to Our Valleys! by Walter Utt*
Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea (Hinges #4) by Thomas Cahill- REREAD
Prairie Boy by Harry Baerg*
Blood Brothers by Philip Samaan*
The Millennium Bug by Jon Paulien*- REREAD
The Collected Poems of Emily Dickinson*
National Sunday Law by A. Jan Marcussen*
The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Vol. 3 by Edward Gibbon
The New World Order by Russell Burrill*
The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Sabbath Roots by Charles E. Bradford*-REREAD
Night Watch (Discworld #29) by Terry Pratchett
The Antichrist and the New World Order by Marvin Moore*
Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin (The Rogue Prince)
Travels with Charley: In Search of America by John Steinbeck
The Iliad and The Odyssey by Homer
The Wee Free Men (Discworld #30) by Terry Pratchett
Mysteries of the Middle Ages (Hinges #5) by Thomas Cahill- REREAD
Heretics and Heroes (Hinges #6) by Thomas Cahill
Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe
Monstrous Regiment (Discworld #31) by Terry Pratchett
The 12th Planet (Earth Chronicles #1) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Christianity by Roland H. Bainton
The Underdogs by Mariano Azuela
A Hat Full of Sky (Discworld #32) by Terry Pratchett
Op-Center (Op-Center #1) by Jeff Roven- REREAD
The Republic by Plato
Gilgamesh
Going Postal (Discworld #33) by Terry Pratchett
The Stairway to Heaven (Earth Chronicles #2) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Evita: The Real Life of Eva Peron by Nicholas Fraser
Beowulf
Thud! (Discworld #34) by Terry Pratchett
Mirror Image (Op-Center #2) by Jeff Rovin- REREAD
A Brief History of Seventh-day Adventists by George R. Knight
Foundation (Foundation #1) by Isaac Asimov
Wintersmith (Discowrld #35) by Terry Pratchett
The Wars of Gods and Men (Earth Chronicles #3) by Zecharia Sitchin- REREAD
Politics by Aristotle
Foundation and Empire (Foundation #2) by Isaac Asimov
Making Money (Discworld #36) by Terry Pratchett
Games of State (Op-Center #3) by Jeff Rovin- REREAD

The Division of Christendom by Hans J. Hillerbrand (October 2017)
Reformations: The Early Modern World, 1450-1650 by Carlos M.N. Eire (October 2017)

* = home read

4 thoughts on “2017 Reading Plan (May Update)

Leave a Reply

